Board 2017-2019

Kela’s Parliamentary Trustees nominate Kela’s Board for a three-year term of office. The Board has 10 members. The Board leads and develops Kela’s operations. A representative of the Kela staff has the right to attend and to be heard at Board meetings. The Director General presents matters to the Board and implements the decisions of the Board.


Terttu Savolainen
Director General, Regional State Administrative Agency for Northern Finland

Deputy chair

Mira Niemien
Detective Chief Inspector, Southeastern Finland Police Department

Members of the Board

Outi Antila
Head of Department, Director-General
Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

Vesa Rantahalvari
Chief Policy Adviser, Confederation of Finnish Industries

Saana Siekkinen
Working Life Director, SAK

Timo Sipilä
Director, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners

Pentti Itkonen
Managing Director, Eksote


Riitta Särkelä
Managing Director, Federation of Mother and Child Homes and Shelters

Leila Lehtinen                            
Commercial Director
Smarp Oy

Antti Valpas,
General Secretary


Heli Korhola
Director, Management Support Unit, Kela

Representative of Kela staff

Tuija Sarlin
Chair, Kela staff association