Board 2020-2022

Kela’s Parliamentary Trustees nominate Kela’s Board for a three-year term of office. The Board has 10 members. The Board leads and develops Kela’s operations. A representative of the Kela staff has the right to attend and to be heard at Board meetings. The Director General presents matters to the Board and implements the decisions of the Board.


Vertti Kiukas

Secretary General, SOSTE Finnish Federation for Social Affairs and Health

Deputy chair

Mira Nieminen
Detective Chief Inspector, Southwestern Finland Police Department

Members of the Board

Tuija Brax
Secretary General, Finnish Heart Association

Leila Lehtinen
Head of Passenger & Operator Services, Matkahuolto Oy

Vesa Rantahalvari
Chief Policy Adviser, Confederation of Finnish Industries

Juha Rehula
Bachelor of Social Services

Saana Siekkinen
Director, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions

Timo Sipilä
Tax Commissioner, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners

Riitta Särkelä
Secretary General, Federation of Mother and Child Homes and Shelters

Kirsi Varhila

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health


Heli Korhola

Director of Strategy, Kela

Representative of Kela staff

Tuija Sarlin
Chair, Kela staff association