Advisory Board on Health Insurance

The Advisory Board acts as support for Kela in issues related to health insurance.

The Advisory Board has the following duties:

  • promote and develop cooperation between the parties that participate in the implementation of the national health insurance scheme
  • make proposals to Kela’s Board
  • issue statements to Kela’s Board on studies and enquiries concerning health insurance as well as on the implementation of the Health Insurance Act and the development of the health insurance scheme.

The Finnish Government nominates the Advisory Board for a period of three years. The current term of office is 1 May 2016–30 April 2019.

Kari-Pekka Mäki-Lohiluoma, Director, Kela

Deputy chair
Anne Neimala, Director of Benefits, Kela

Reija Jääskeläinen, Secretary, Kela

Members Substitute

Liisa-Maria Voipio-Pulkki, Director General, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

Taina Mäntyranta, Medical Councellor, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

Liisa Siika-aho, Director, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

Eva Ojala, Ministerial Adviser, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

Lauri Vuorenkoski, Health policy adviser, Finnish Medical Association (FMA)

Matti Pöyry, Executive Director, Finnish Dental Association

Auli Rytivaara, Medical Adviser,
Confederation of Finnish Industries

Eveliina Vigelius, Specialist, Confederation of Finnish Industries

Tuuli Glantz, Social Policy Advisor, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions

Kari Haring, Medical Adviser, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions

Riitta Työläjärvi, Senior Adviser, Social and Health Policy, Finnish Confederation of Professionals STTK

Paula Ilveskivi, Legal Counsel, AKAVA ry

Martti Talja, Member of Parliament, Parliament

Ritva Elomaa, Member of Parliament, Parliament